The Nineteenth Street Baptist Church has figured prominently in the spiritual and cultural life of the City and has attracted national and international attention. In its rich history, preachers have been ordained; churches have been planted; and schools have been founded as a result of its devoted and enthusiastic membership. Through acclaimed concerts by its choirs and soloists, dramatic performances, scholarships and tutorial classes, the members of Nineteenth Street Baptist have used their gifts and talents to glorify God and bless the surrounding community.

Today, Nineteenth Street is continuing its commitment to furthering the work of the Church by spreading the Gospel and equipping believers to live victoriously.

A Historical House Of Worship
A group of dedicated Baptist ministers and laypersons came together on August 29, 1839 to organize the First Colored Church of Washington. This group, which included Rev. Jeremiah Moore, Rev. Lewis Richards, Rev. Adam Freeman, Rev. William Parkinson, Charles P. Polk, Cephas Fox, Charles Rogers, John Buchan, Joseph Borrows and Sarah Borrows, undoubtedly envisioned a place where Christians would serve the Lord with gladness, grow spiritually and be able to fellowship with one another. A committee was authorized to buy Lot 11 in Square 118 on the southwest corner of Nineteenth and I Streets, N.W. There, a house of worship was erected that was to be incorporated as The Baptist Church of Christ in Washington. The church was later incorporated on November 16, 1870, as the Nineteenth Street Baptist Church.

The church remained on the corner of 19th and I Streets, N.W. for 135 years until it moved, January 26, 1975, to its present location at 4606 Sixteenth Street, N.W. During its spiritual and physical growth, the church has had dedicated and dynamic leadership beginning with the first Pastor who served two separate times, the Rev. Sampson White, 1839-1841 and 1854-1856. Our inspired leaders are listed below chronologically.

Rev. Sampson White – 1839-1841
Rev. William Willliams
Rev. Gustavus Brown – 1853
Rev. Sampson White – 1853-1856
Rev. Chauncey Leonard – 1859 – 1862
Rev. Samuel Madden 1862
Rev. Duke W. Anderson – 1868 – 1871
Rev. King – 1871 – 1873
Rev. Waring
Rev. Anthony Binga
Rev. Jesse Boulden
Rev. Dr. Walter H. Brooks – 1882 – 1945
Rev. Dr. Jerry A. Moore Jr. – 1946 – 1997
Rev. Dr. Derrick Harkins – 1997 – 2015
Rev. Darryl D. Roberts, Ph.D. – 2017 –