Board of Trustees Historical Roster
Mission of the Board of Trustees:
To maintain the physical assets of the church and coordinate finances.
Church Constitution


June 10, 1835
The Colored members purchased Lot 11 from First Baptist Church to organize the
First Colored Baptist Church.

October 23, 1866
Lot of church conveyed to Trustees of the Nineteenth Street Baptist Church
Ball, Edgar, Davis, C.A., Middleton, C. H. Hunter, J.W, Stewart, C.A.

February 14, 1876
Suit No 4823 filed by Trustees of Nineteenth Street Baptist Church
Trustees: E. Ball, C. A. Davis, J. H. Hunter,
Charles Middleton and Carter A. Stewart

August 20, 1875
Nineteenth Street Baptist Church request a formal release from First Baptist Church of the deed to the property, Liber 794, folio 337.

April 24, 1876
Decree of the Court: Make a conveyance to the plaintiffs as “Corporators” of the
Nineteenth Street Baptist Church

November 15, 1897
Disposition of Settlement and Real Estate Title explained by
Trustees Aldridge Lewis and Lucious Peterson

January 25, 1975
Church moved to present location 4606 16th Street, Washington, D.C.

July 7, 2014
God has brought us to a new place and time. He has given us “Raise the Roof” on the sanctuary. Financing has been completed and it shall begin very soon!
“Yours for the Cause of the Master”

Arrington, Banjamin
Baley, Lemuel C.
Ball, Edgar
Bannister, C.C.
Blount, Allen
Brackeen, Thomas
Brinkley, John
Brooks, Elmer
Brown, Dwayne
Cannady, Ave’
Crawford, Dwight
Davis, Charles A.
France, Shirley
Grigsby, Charles
Hall, Charles
Harrell, Jimmie
Harris, William B.
Holmes, Ursula
Holton, Roman
Hunter, John W.
Jackson, John
Jackson, Walter Sr.
Johnson, Campbell
Johnson, Cheryl L.
Jumper, Steven
Lewis, Aldridge
Lee, Will iam I
Magruder, Lewis
Marshall, Charles, Dr.
McClain, John
McNair, Robert
Middleton, Charles H.
Montague, Thomas W.
Pulley, Navarro
Peterson, Lucious
Quander, William
Rodgers, James
Ross, George W.
Sample, Theresa
Seales, Frank
Shreve, Joanna
Smith, A.D.
Sprow, Charlie
Stewart, C.A.
Taylor, Ronald
Walker, Henderson
Washington, Benjamin
Williams, Hal
Williams, Reginald
Williams, Monroe J.
Williams, William M.
Wilson, Carolyn
Wilson, Yettekov, Sr.
Winston, Martha
Woolridge, Randy
Wormley, William H.A.
Worrell, Mildeen

In our effort to be as inclusive as possible we will forever try to update our church family records. If you know of a member who we have missed on this list of Trustees please contact Deacon Johnnie Love at
“Yours for the Cause of the Master”
Deacon Johnnieque B. (Johnnie) Love
Deacon Board Archivist
July 13, 2014



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *